Thanks Im new to this and dont have one yet still looking at cages but Syrian hamsters look cool and fun i just want to make Shure it has a fun good life and I hear to do that is to get them lots of walking space and exercise. Im trying to figure out what breed of dwarf they are. Syrian hamsters are also among the most docile of hamsters and actually enjoy being held once theyve been tamed. Would a hamster be easier to get. What would be the best type? Safety tips for you and your pet: And are they good pet if not then what should I get? For more information, please read our privacy policy. You might also search the internet for a hamster forum to ask for a recommendation from any members that might be from New York. Syrian hamsters share quite a few traits with other hamster breeds. Long Haired Syrian Hamster Lifespan Before making up your mind about any pet, it is good to know its lifespan. I made sure that I hade a 2x2m squared area blocked off for the syrians Ive owned to have a couple of days and nights vacation in every once in a while ( like once a week or so) just so they felt refreshed. best of luck . Probably the most common and popular is known as the Teddy Bear hamster. Some owneres also liken the scent to that of burning rubber, whilst others do not find it as well overwhelming whatsoever! As an adult this breed will be 6 to 8 inches in length (15 to 20cm). Male and Female Long-haired Hamsters: In Syrian hamsters, there are a few marked differences between long haired female and male hamsters. Syrian hamsters grow up to 5 to 7 inches (13-18 cm). Most Dwarf hamsters, however, are social animals and can be housed with another of the same sex. And does their cage stink a lot? Featured ContentDog FAQs|Most Popular Dog Breeds|Popular Cat Breeds|Get Pet Insurance|Toxic Plant Database|Dogs Name From|Dog Poop Bag Reviews. These cookies help provide information on metrics the number of visitors, bounce rate, traffic source, etc. Copyright 2023 ElegantQuestion.co